Where do I go from here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

satuday

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a traditional student and I've applied for the 2012 cycle but I don't know how great my chances are.:confused:

I have a 4.0 science GPA, a 3.98 cumulative GPA, but I didnt do so great on the MCAT with a 27P (7V, 10P, 10B) . I have about 1.5 years of volunteering at a pretty big hospital directly with patients. I only have one semester worth of research at a neuroscience lab, I got my name on a poster but no publications. I have a lot of tutoring and mentoring experience with underprivileged kids. Oh and I'm not an URM.

What are my chances of getting into MD schools this cycle, what schools do you recommend for high gpa but low mcat and non-exceptional ECs? Has anyone gotten in to an MD schools with stats like mine?

Should I apply to DO schools and which ones?

Should I take a couple years off and go for a masters/retake the MCAT and get more experience?

Any advice would be helpful! Thanks :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
when was AMCAS verified and when did you complete your secondaries.

That really low MCAT will probably get you rejected from most MD programs. Applying to DO starting now is kind of late as well. You might be better off retaking the MCAT and applying next cycle.

AMCAS was verified in July and secondaries finished by late August/early September, any other advice besides improving MCAT scores?

Members don't see this ad :)
AMCAS was verified in July and secondaries finished by late August/early September, any other advice besides improving MCAT scores?

You will get into a DO school even if you apply this late. I guarantee you that you will so apply to AACOMAS ASAP. Just make sure you apply broadly....

Last edited: