NexGen

10+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2005
Status
hi im currently a junior high school student who had taken an interest in going into the medical field. I was wondering what should i do now as a high school student to prepare for it and what will make my admission easier? Since i had slacked off my first 2 years of high school so now my GPA is roughly 3.5 . Thanks.

by the way, being new here, what is MD and DO?

Ross434

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Aug 24, 2003
Visit site
Status
Pharmacy Student
NexGen said:
hi im currently a junior high school student who had taken an interest in going into the medical field. I was wondering what should i do now as a high school student to prepare for it and what will make my admission easier? Since i had slacked off my first 2 years of high school so now my GPA is roughly 3.5 . Thanks.

Raise your GPA, do awesome extracurriculars, and apply to early entrance programs, which allow you "Easier" admission because they guarantee you admission to med school conditional upon you going to their undergrad and doing well for 3 years. You dont even need to take the mcat. So.. do really well in high school classes, and do some volunteering and job shadowing.

patzan

Waiting for March 20th
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 4, 2004
In a van down by the river
Visit site
Status
Resident [Any Field]
NexGen said:
Ha ha! :laugh: :laugh: What a perfect question to ask this group of future docs! I wonder if any would be willing to tell you! :laugh: :laugh:

OP
N

NexGen

10+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2005
Status
Ross434 said:
Raise your GPA, do awesome extracurriculars, and apply to early entrance programs, which allow you "Easier" admission because they guarantee you admission to med school conditional upon you going to their undergrad and doing well for 3 years. You dont even need to take the mcat. So.. do really well in high school classes, and do some volunteering and job shadowing.