Nov 24, 2013
Hello all,

I'd like some advice on how I should pursue my nearly life-long dream of becoming a physician.

I graduated university in 2012 with a BA in Philosophy and minors in Politics, and Chemistry. I had a 3.4 overall gpa. (My major gpa was a 4.0). My pre-medical science courses were as follows:

BIO 1 = C
BIO 2 = B
BIO labs = C+, both
PHY 1 = B
PHY 2 = B+
PHY labs = B+, both
Orgo 1 = C+
Orgo 2 = C
Orgo lab = B
Chem 1 = C
Chem 2 = A
Chem lab 1 = B-
Chem lab 2 = B

I now have a Master's degree in Bioethics from Columbia university. I maintained very good grades overall in the program.

Some other "highlights":
-Community service award at my university
-Studied abroad in Europe 6 months
-Honors society for philosophy
-Research project in Sociology department
-Published paper in sociology
-Volunteered at clinic for economically disadvantaged folks in my town
-Shadowing experience
-Research ethics experience through current job
-High quality letters of recommendation

I have not taken the MCAT yet, as I am not sure if I should pursue some type of program to retake the sciences that I did not do so well in.

Any advice that you are kindly able to offer will be greatly appreciated.

-MP

Starry

Wish on a different star
May 24, 2013
Status
Medical Student
Your life experiences/ec's aren't bad. But what med schools need to see is that you will succeed in a rigorous science curriculum. And your current transcript does not reflect this. I would suggest looking into a special master's program, a post-bacc, or retaking the sciences you didn't do well in.

Pros of SMP/post-bacc: higher level courses, some programs may offer guaranteed acceptance, better chance for MD schools if you do well (3.5+gpa)
Cons of SMP/post-bacc: expensive, if you don't do well you are wayyyyy out of luck.

Pros of retaking: cheaper, easier than SMP/post-bacc, will cover MCAT material