SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

whether medical schools should accept more applicants? please share opinions.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by sunny, Oct 29, 2000.

1. sunny

sunny New Member

Oct 28, 2000
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Im a student at Virginia Commonwealth University and I am doing a research paper on whether medical schools should accept more applicants. The statistics show that there are not enough medical students to fill entry level jobs and these spots are being filled by doctors from other countries. What is your opinion on this topic. Should more students be accepted or not. and Why?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Mango

Mango Very Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Apr 30, 2000
    Most med schools are already stretched to the limits of their budgets. And you may have heard that many have been in serious financial trouble in the last five years or so (check out MCP). Plus, most programs are structured for exactly the same number of students each year. As in they have just enough clinical preceptors available, not to mention anatomy labs, and even number of seats in their lecture hall, etc. I actually interviewed at one school that had 90 seats in their lecture hall, so that's how many students they accepted, no more, no less. Most schools also strive to keep class sizes low, in order to improve the quality of education. And I suppose you could also say that increasing acceptances, would (to a degree) involve lowering standards.