Whether to pursue med school or PA school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lemurlover87

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm turning 23 and currently a post-bacc student volunteering in an emergency room on weekends. I enjoy having direct patient contact paired with shadowing. I shadow both the PAs and the residents and noticed they are very similar in that they examine the patient by themselves, order the tests and prescribe medication. They also have to present every patient to the attending before they can be discharged. I'm leaning towards PA because I love the idea of a medical model education and being able to choose a specialty and switch if I ever wanted to.

I graduated in May 2009 with a bachelors in History and a cumulative GPA of 3.4. I'm halfway through a post-bacc program with a GPA of 3.9 consisting of Biology I and II, Chemistry I and II, Pre-calc and Calc. I was originally a health science major my freshmen year, but switched majors to enjoy college life and chose to pursue law school instead. After working in a law office, and having friends in law school who discouraged me as well as lawyers, I realized it was not my passion so I'm kicking myself now. Medicine has always interested me and my volunteer experience has pushed me to pursue it again.

I know a lot of PAs I speak to love what they do, love their lifestyle and wouldn't change a thing. My boyfriend is starting med school this August in NY and I'm worried if I will always wonder if I could have gone all the way and became an MD or DO. I would hate to go through the rigors of PA school and later regret not going to medical school because of "the amount of time." I'm well aware that medical school is going to be a much more competitive, longer, expensive, and exhausting process and I keep thinking I could just graduate from PA school the same time my boyfriend graduates from medical school and begin working.