Which is a better school for me/What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aslank

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I recently graduated from UofT, my GPA is a 3.6 according to GEMSES. I wrote my MCAT in Dec 2014 and got a 10V, 8PS, 8BS (I know it isn't great but my first score was a mere 6 VR, 7 BS, 7PS). I have applied to UQ, Monash, Syd and Mel(I have really no hopes for even an interview call). My situation is a bit different from most Canadian students who apply to Australia to study medicine. I am married and my husband lives in Australia (on a student visa). His educational program makes him eligible to apply for a PR upon completion (Dec 2015). Although currently I am applying as an international student I am almost certain of gaining a PR during the course of my medical education and both of us would like to permanently move to Australia (We prefer living in Victoria). I have received an interview offer from Monash, and the applications haven't opened yet for other schools.

In light of all of this information, what kind of path would be the best in terms of finding a job and settling in permanently? Please be objective in your answers. (I don't care that UQ has a 500+ students or that Gippsland is in the middle of nowhere).

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
1. Don't go to UQ.
2. I can't imagine anything more boring than moving to a foreign country to be with a spouse.

You're comments are absolutely useless given that they don't consider any of the concerns in my original post. This thread is NOT about you or your dislike against UQ. Please refrain from trolling on here.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)