Which is the easiest residency field to go into

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

appletrees

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Need help choosing a specialty. I'm an average student with average board scores. Ideally something that has good hours, good schedule and laid back and not a lot of reading. Too burned out to do anything that has long hours.

Members don't see this ad.

All residencies are inherently hard. The problem is when you compare a residency such as mine, FM, to a residency such as surgery that one seems "harder" than the other. If you're truly burned out, then you should seek help at your school for this.

Is FM laid back? Yes.
Does FM have good hours? Only when you're an attending.

Reactions: 3 users
If you like the population and don't actually need to be clearing more than half a mil a year to be happy, psych meets your criteria nicely.

If you don't like the population, pick something else. Lord knows we don't need more psychiatrists who are indifferent at what they do and dislike their patients.

Reactions: 2 users
Need help choosing a specialty. I'm an average student with average board scores. Ideally something that has good hours, good schedule and laid back and not a lot of reading. Too burned out to do anything that has long hours.
Complete a prelim/intern year, then get out of medicine and do something else (e.g. work for a pharmaceuticals company)?

Reactions: 1 user