Which job during my gap year(s)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in June and will be applying to medical schools in June 2014. I have a lower than average GPA (3.3) so I know I need to shoot for a 35 on my MCAT to even have a chance. Here are my extracurriculars to date:

-4 years volunteer at a surgery center
-2 years volunteer at a company that offers reconstructive surgery to underprivileged children (which I will continue until I apply next year)
-2 years working in an Alzheimer's research lab performing stains on brain slides
-few months volunteer in radiology department aiding the rad techs
-tons of shadowing (family medicine, anesthesia, surgery)
-Will be starting shadowing with a pathologist soon
- I also am going to shadow more doctors (radiology, EM hopefully)
-Good LORs
-Will be training for a half-marthon soon.

My question is whether I should be looking for a job in research or in healthcare? I have a degree in neuroscience and some research experience, so it's kinda hard to get a "good" job in a lab. Do you think it would be better for my application to get more clinical work experience such as working with elders in homes, or should I focus on getting a research related position?

Thank you for your suggestions!

Members don't see this ad.

My $0.02 is that it looks like you have all your boxes checked for your application so I would pick a job that interests you the most and pays well. Do what you want to do.

Members don't see this ad :)
I would say a research job just because it's less energetically demanding than a hospital job and the schedule is more flexible.

I graduated in June and will be applying to medical schools in June 2014. I have a lower than average GPA (3.3) so I know I need to shoot for a 35 on my MCAT to even have a chance. Here are my extracurriculars to date: