Which loupes are the best?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iamwoody

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there. I'm new to this studentdoctor thing, so here goes. I've recently been accepted to dental school and I received a letter stating that we are required to purchase dental loupes (magnification lenses). However we are only allotted enough money through financial aid to get Surgitel loupes. We are, however allowed to spend a few extra bucks and get better ones. Is there anyone out there that could shed some light on the subject for me whether or not it is a good idea to invest in better lenses? Do students actually use them?

Members don't see this ad.

I have Surgitel 2.5's, and they're just fine. Designs For Vision and Orascoptic are the other two big companies, but they're more expensive (particularly DFV). I didn't notice any significant differences between the Surgitels and the DFV, so I opted to save $150. If you get some and don't like them, all three companies will let you return them within 45 days for a refund so you can try another pair.

I also purchased Surgitels, and they are fine.

To the OP: I wouldn't worry *too* much about this just yet. Your school ought to have reps from all the major companies come in to fit you, and then you can probably make a decision then.

Any brand you choose will probably be just fine.

Members don't see this ad :)