Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Which minor should I declare - Biology or BChem?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by cloudm, Dec 30, 2008.

1. cloudm

2+ Year Member

I just wanted some opinions on this:

I am considering minoring in either Biology or Biochemistry, mostly to get my GPA up as I got a B- in both Orgo Chems so my BCPM is pretty low.

I would probably enjoy a Biology minor more than a biochemistry minor but do you think I should take biochemistry to show I can do well in chemistry classes?

Thanks

2. 229141

Pre-Medical
    1- What is your major?
    2- What does a Bchem minor require vs. a bio minor? Bio minors are really easy typically

3. cloudm

2+ Year Member

1) My major is currently Chemical Engineering

2) Biochem requires more chemistry oriented class with maybe a biological component to them such as biochemistry, biophysical chemistry, analytical chemistry and some pure biology classes
    Biology is just as it sounds all biology classes - anything from human anatomy to ecology or genetics.

Not sure about the ease of the programs but biology would be easier in my case as I am historically better at biology than chemistry.

4. MeatTornado

MeatTornado On Sabbatical
    Physician 10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    doing a minor, especially a science one (if that's even possible) is basically shooting yourself in the foot if you are majoring in chem E. i'm sure your course load is already heavy enough, no reason to make it much heavier. if you want to raise your BCPM then take biochem and a couple of BCPM classes that interest you but no reason to tie yourself down with a minor.

5. indianstar

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical