• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

Which one you guys think would have best hands on clinical experience; nursing/PA vs RT vs radiologic tech?

tmra2100

Jul 4, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
IMG didn't match for 3 years, thinking to take a different route to get some hands on experience in the US, and earn some money at the same time. I've been told that accelerated nursing program is the easiest and best one.

Monkeymojo

May 23, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
I am currently a licensed vocational nurse so will limit my comments to only that realm since I do not have experience with the others.

Pros:
- Really impactful patient experiences: It feels good knowing you are the last line between a possible error from a provider and the patient. It also gives you a glimpse into a lot of interventions and facilitates you seeing how different physicians tackle different diagnoses and how those interventions directly impact the patient experience/outcome.
- Truly understanding what it means to be a patient advocate: This isn't just advocating that XXXX is in pain and needs more than just Tylenol. It consists of everything. Sometimes just listening and being present during a patient's time of need is more impactful than what any Rx can accomplish. This can go into the whole 'skills not pills' ethos but that is a complex issue for another topic.
- Lateral transfer of skills: You will learn lab values, Rx's, assist in interventions, and conduct assessments that will aid you later on.