Which Retail/Community Pharmacy has the least amount corporate bureaucracy????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WhYMee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys new here. Just a lil background. I’ve been working for CVS for 10 yrs (4yrs-intern 6 yrs-RpH). Over the years their corporate beauracracy has been getting worse and worse.

I understand that the goal of any company is to maximize profits and minimize costs, but the way CVS works these days it severely impedes our “real job “ as pharmacists.

Their focus is all about numbers and pushing there initiatives. I’m sure a lot of you are aware of some of there practices. They want you to be telemarketers and solicit rx’s from customers complete with a scripted pitch. They force us to get patients to enroll in automatic refills and threaten you with write ups and termination. All the while cutting tech help. They also discourage and down right reject hiring techs at above minimum wage and don’t put thru their raises easily. All adding to terrible morale.

I somewhat like retail (not sure how jaded I am) and at one point enjoyed it a lot.. I’m interested if you guys can give me suggestions on where to look?

I want a company that can encourage our real duties as pharmacists (verifying rx’s accurately and efficiently, counseling, customer service, etc.) all of which will drive business anyway and scoop em more $$$

Which companies would you recommend? I would assume that companies that don’t specialize in pharmacies (ie. department stores and supermarkets) would be better.

Sorry for the long post, but fig I’d give you background so I can explain my question.

Thanks in advance guys

Members don't see this ad.

I think all retail pharmacy chains probably operate as businesses. That is, they are operating to make a profit. They are employing you to make themselves a profit like any business. Maybe look at small grocery store chain jobs?