Quantcast

Which schools most emphasize numbers?

BeMo Free Repeat™ On Us + 5 Med School Challenge
This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FRL1596

Reaction score
My numbers are pretty good (3.94/523) but I have just about 100 hours of community service and no research on my app.

I know all schools emphasize community service heavily and prefer research. But I feel like there have to be some that are especially likely to bite on numbers.

Any input would be greatly appreciated as I'm trying not to throw away too much time/money on schools that won't consider me.

I'm a Texas resident if that helps.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

anonymoose1640

Reaction score
Your numbers are great but like people said in your other thread: you'd be better off taking a gap year (or two) and boosting your numbers so you have a real shot at any medical school of your choosing. Some schools love numbers, but even they require volunteering, patient contact experience, shadowing, and they encourage research. With only 100 hrs of volunteering and nothing else but internships and employment, even the number loving schools might not give you an interview.

To answer your question though, the schools that love numbers the most, in my opinion, are WashU, Penn, UChicago, and Vanderbilt.

Good luck :)

candbgirl

Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Why did you start another thread? You still don't have the ECs that will seal the deal for an acceptance. If you are looking for different answers that tell you " go apply anywhere, the med school world is your oyster" I doubt you'll get it. Take the gap year and apply next June and you'll be really successful. You only want to apply one time with the best possible application possible. Do what is needed to make your total application amazing.

Sent from my iPad using SDN mobile app

Reactions: 1 user

FRL1596

Reaction score