Which schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iPremed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey!

Which schools would accept a person with 1 C (Physics 1), 1 C+ (Physics 2), 1 C+ (Orgo 1), 1 B- (Chem 2), 1 B- (Calc 2) up until the end of 1st semester sophomore year if they have a drastic turn around and get 3.75+ GPA every semester after that up til the end of junior year when applying? (assume 30+ MCAT and adequate extracurriculars).

Do I have a chance applying traditionally? or would I have to make it up with a masters or something like that? Is it too early to think about that? (I'm a second semester sophomore right now). Should I take the Physics and orgo 1 over again to show improvement? Since these were relatively early on, do I still have a chance as a traditional applicant? I am trying really hard to do well from now on but I just want to know if it is even possible.

Are 3 semesters of 3.75+ in recent coursework enough?

Could I get into state schools? (NY)

My GPA with all the bad grades is a 3.1 cum and 3.0 bcpm.

If I get 4.0's from now on i can get a ~3.5/3.4
I know it will be difficult to get straight A's...so I calculated with 3 B's and could get ~3.3/3.4...this is a bit low..

by getting my gpa up, could it compensate for the bad grades early on? i actually had a good 1st semester freshman gpa (3.61) and then my grades dipped...so I'm kinda worried about the dip..

I prefer MD but am not totally opposed to the DO option. I definitely want to stay in the US.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey!

Which schools would accept a person with 1 C (Physics 1), 1 C+ (Physics 2), 1 C+ (Orgo 1), 1 B- (Chem 2), 1 B- (Calc 2) up until the end of 1st semester sophomore year if they have a drastic turn around and get 3.75+ GPA every semester after that up til the end of junior year when applying? (assume 30+ MCAT and adequate extracurriculars).