sahinak

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2009
NY
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi all,

So I'm studying for BS and using EK and really like it but have heard its sortve weak in some areas. I tried supplementing with mcatreview.org but I'm afraid that might not be enough. I have the TPR and BR books but don't want to read them cover to cover.

What topics do guys think is poorly or insufficiently explained in EK bio that I should skip and use the other books???

Thanks in advance!!

mcloaf

7+ Year Member
Jan 21, 2012
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I took it a while ago but I remember EK genetics being pretty minimal.

OP
S

sahinak

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2009
NY
Status
Pre-Medical
Thanks! I guess ill supplement it with TPR?

NervousNerd

5+ Year Member
May 22, 2013
Status
Medical Student
TPR bio has been great for me. Constant 12 subsection score after using their book.

NervousNerd

5+ Year Member
May 22, 2013
Status
Medical Student
Wow nice job, great to know that TPR can be that good...

Which practice questions/passages did you do for practice? TPR Science Workbook? Any other thing? 12 in BS is pretty awesome :)

Not with a 9 in PS :(

But yes, I used the TPR bio book cover to cover. Read each chapter as content review. At the end of the chapter is a drill passage and FSQ's to do. If I did not receive at least a 5/7 on each section, I did not feel comfortable and went back to review more.

Same for the big huge science workbook. I've only done about 10 of those passages out of the 70. But they are really good to find your weakness with.

TPR was really good for me. It laid out everything perfectly and the tables clicked for me

NervousNerd

5+ Year Member
May 22, 2013
Status
Medical Student
Have you taken any TPR full lengths?
Yes. I find that they are more difficult across the board as I have scored much lower than my AAMC tests.

I recommend taking them with a grain of salt. Don't base your scoring on their tests.

Sep 18, 2012
Status
Pre-Medical