why did rainbow babies only match 10/24?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mhdousa

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I'm a 3rd year student hoping to match in peds.
I was just curious why Rainbow Babies (Case
Western) only matched 10 out 24 spots (according
to the scutwork.com unfilled programs list) because, as far as I've been told by my attendings, this program is very reputable in academic peds.
Any insight would be appreciated.
Thanks!
-M

Members don't see this ad.

the stats on scutwork are notoriously incorrect... I don't know that this is the case for this particular program, but it seems likely

*****The below was edited after other posts*****
I was passing along info that I had heard on this forum, in actuality I don't know anything about the validity of those stats so trust Kimberly and the others who posted below.

Looking at the unmatched programs, I got 10/24 for University Hospitals of Cleveland for Pediatrics. This is from NRMP.

Members don't see this ad :)
•••quote:•••Originally posted by mhdousa:
•Hey all,
I'm a 3rd year student hoping to match in peds.
I was just curious why Rainbow Babies (Case
Western) only matched 10 out 24 spots (according
to the scutwork.com unfilled programs list) because, as far as I've been told by my attendings, this program is very reputable in academic peds.
Any insight would be appreciated.
Thanks!
-M•••••Hi there,

The stats put out even on the unfilled list only reflect those positions that were filled through the Match. Sometimes a great program will fill the rest of their slots during the Scramble even though it shows that they have openings. Some programs choose not to fill all of their alloted slots. The way the Match computer works is still somewhat shady. I know that programs can make deals and still participate in the Match.

•••quote:•••Originally posted by coop: