Why do I study so hard and don't get results as good as someone who studies less than me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Richanesthesiologist

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I studied for one week and 2 weekends for a microbio exam and got an 82, which, because of the generous curve in the class, still kept me at an A, and I'm content. However, what frustrates me is how my best friend studied literally the night before using a study guide and made a 92? Its not just with microbiol. I studied just as much if not more than him in physics and yet scored 10 points lower and my grade in Spanish is a 93 while his is a 98 even though I spend double the time on homework.

For some reason, my friend is able to still get 8 hours a sleep a night and get these good grades while I'm struggling to catch up on 5 hours a night.

Also, in my research lab, I don't know why I am so inefficient. For example, I take 6 hours to stain and make mistakes still while another cohort of mine whose done the experiment for an almost equal amount of time finishes and leaves in 3 hours.

Is my IQ like 60 or something?

Members don't see this ad.

You'll always be miserable if you continue to judge/compare yourself to others. There will always be someone smarter, taller, faster, quicker, etc. Find happiness and contentment in your own accomplishments...nuff said...

Reactions: 7 users
You're probably pretty inefficient. Your friend might just be more efficient.
Or your friend is smarter than you and learns a lot faster. There are people smarter than you and that's ok. I guarantee you learn a lot faster than tons of other people.

So what can you do about it?
1. Think about how you study and figure out how to study smarter.
2. Accept that some people are smarter than you and move on with your life

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)