Why doesn't the AOA use DO plugs so that people actually know what a DO is?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by clc8503, Dec 31, 2008.

1. clc8503

clc8503 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

I work as a Medical Technologist in Louisiana, and to my surprise, almost none of my colleagues know what a DO is, even though one works in our ER. This is simply pathetic. I realize that Louisiana has three Medical Schools and all three are allopathic, which means that the MD predominates in this state, but come one! Seriously! NO one in my entire department knew what the hell I was talking about when they asked me where I was applying to medical school!!! One of them said, "Oh that's Chiropractor School. They're quacks." I became so irritated that I could barely keep my composure. However I worked through it and did my best to explain the profession, which ended on a semi-positive note. However, that does not change how ridiculous this is.