Why don't schools make you prove what's on your resume?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VeilofMaya

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
What I'm reading on the SDN forums scare me. All the hard work of many seems to be nullified since it seems someone could lie there way through a resume, since no one seems to care to call you on it.

For example someone said they never got a certificate saying how many hours they volunteered at a hospital or they just take your word that your a Tae Kwon Do black belt. It is really ridiculous.

There are many things I would like to put on my resume, but don't simply because I cannot prove it without witnesses of some sort. For example, I taught my AP European History class about the turning points in WWII for two class periods when I was a sophomore. It is very odd, isn't related to medicine, etc., but this is the sort of **** people seem to be putting down on their resumes.

So my question is do schools check up on this or is it really as bad as I think it is?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
What I'm reading on the SDN forums scare me. All the hard work of many seems to be nullified since it seems someone could lie there way through a resume, since no one seems to care to call you on it.

For example someone said they never got a certificate saying how many hours they volunteered at a hospital or they just take your word that your a Tae Kwon Do black belt. It is really ridiculous.

There are many things I would like to put on my resume, but don't simply because I cannot prove it without witnesses of some sort. For example, I taught my AP European History class about the turning points in WWII for two class periods when I was a sophomore. It is very odd, isn't related to medicine, etc., but this is the sort of **** people seem to be putting down on their resumes.

So my question is do schools check up on this or is it really as bad as I think it is?