Why is there a shortage of Child & Adolescent Psychiatrists in the US?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlueSultan

Reaction score
Hello! I'm an M3 student currently trying to decide which specialty I want to pursue. One of the fields I've been interested in is Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, and while I had some brief exposure to the field during my Psych rotation, I never got as much exposure as I would've liked. Unfortunately with COVID currently messing up every med student's schedule I'm not sure I'll get the chance to explore the field much more before application season, especially with Away Rotations being up in the air currently.

I was wondering why there is such a shortage of Child & Adolescent Psychiatrists in general, and whether this is just a product of there being few Psychiatrists in general and less that want to pursue extra fellowship training, or if there are any specific downsides to the field that tend to push people away from it? Please be brutally honest!

Members don't see this ad.

Because you have three patients instead of one.

• Haha
Reactions: 29 users
Members don't see this ad :)
It’s a bigger challenge than gen psych for a relatively small bump in average earnings. Adults can lie (often not well), but they can generally express their feelings. Child evaluations can involve parents (1 or 2), the child, teachers, etc. Children aren’t going to sit still and clearly explain their feelings. Parents can be selfish, expect you to fix their problems, and are more defensive.

I find it worth it, but I can understand that it isn’t for everyone.

Reactions: 12 users