Why Medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

millersvillemed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So what is everyones reason or motivation behind entering into medicine? I'm a sophomore undergrad, and honestly I don't think I could give a reasonable answer to that. And yes, I realize that could be a formidable problem down the line. However, at the same time, I am questioning if this is really the road I want to go down.

Obviously the medical career is full of sacrifices, which I am prepared to make. What I don't know if I'm prepared for is picking one single career right now, and only working towards that.

Knowing what motivated others may reinvigorate my interest, or may show me that this is not what I actually want to do. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

It used to be money and because I deeply enjoyed the subject matter alot. But now, I'm second questioning it.

Members don't see this ad :)
For me, it's because I enjoy the hard science involved and I like the satisfaction I get from helping people. Cliche? Yes. Honest? Yes. Is this the answer I'm going to give in interviews? Yes, but worded in a way that is much more interesting and creative.

Mostly money and job security...definitely not the answers I will give in my PS and interviews though

I really like helping people who are sick or hurt. :p It makes me feel good to know that someone trusts me and depends on me to make him/her feel better. There are many ups and downs to Medicine and I know that I won't be able to save or help cure someone all the time. But the fact that there is a chance I can do something good makes me really want to pursue it. I can't imagine myself not being a doctor in the future. :luck: