Why so few east coast students at UNLV? Also, is UNLV heavily LDS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UNCafDDS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
It looks like UNLV has a lot of out of state students, but most are from the surrounding states.

Is that because many east coasters don't apply or because UNLV does not give east coasters much consideration?

I am a VA resident interested in applying to UNLV (in addition to VCU and others). It's my only non east coast dental school (as of now), so I wanted to get some insight.

Also, will being a 23 year old single female put me in the minority? I am not LDS and I wonder if a lot of the students are and are married with children.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

definitely apply! maybe those in the east coast just do not choose to move out to LV. 50% of their enrolled students are supposed to be in state because it is a state school they give preference to those in state.

There are going to be a lot of LDS students at every dental school. I have heard that there are a decent amount at UNLV because of the proximity to Utah. Can anyone confirm that?

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I am the original poster. I am not opposed to LDS at all.... I am asking more in terms of if a lot of the students are married with children (vs. other schools). I am a single female.

Reactions: 1 user
Don't worry about religious denominations in dental school. It's completely irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. Just go to the school where you can see yourself be successful.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk