Will a Masters Degree hurt my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ilyscience

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently in a PhD program for Chemistry at a top 10 research institution and am considering switching to a 1 year Masters program and applying to medical school. After reading a few threads on here, it seems like having the Masters on my application might look bad, as I'd have to explain why I got my Masters in the first place instead of going straight to Med School. I just had back surgery and am on a medical leave of absence....with two quarters left to go. Do you think its better if I just leave now without a Masters, get a job as a scribe/EMT/PCT (I have my EMT-B license), or stick it out and get the Masters?

Other than the Masters (if I got it), I have a decent GPA (3.566) from a good undergraduate institution, good ECs, lots of clinical experience.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm currently in a PhD program for Chemistry at a top 10 research institution and am considering switching to a 1 year Masters program and applying to medical school. After reading a few threads on here, it seems like having the Masters on my application might look bad, as I'd have to explain why I got my Masters in the first place instead of going straight to Med School. I just had back surgery and am on a medical leave of absence....with two quarters left to go. Do you think its better if I just leave now without a Masters, get a job as a scribe/EMT/PCT (I have my EMT-B license), or stick it out and get the Masters?

Other than the Masters (if I got it), I have a decent GPA (3.566) from a good undergraduate institution, good ECs, lots of clinical experience.

Any advice would be appreciated!