SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Will a misdemeanor affect dental licensure in CA?

Discussion in 'Dental' started by usc4life, Jun 13, 2008.

1. usc4life

Jun 13, 2008
    Two days ago I was on my way home with a friend from TGI Fridays. He was pulled over and arrested for DUI. He mouthed off to them and pissed them off. They then arrested me (a passenger!) for "drunk in public." The crazy thing is I hadn't had anything to drink that night whatsoever! They just threw me in the back of the cop car w/o asking me any questions or sobriety tests. I spent the night in jail sober as ever. I am a third year dental student in CA and was wondering if this could affect my dental licensure application next year? It's a misdemeanor charge and I'm contemplating the value of spending thousands to fight it with an attorney. Any advice or first hand experience would be greatly appreciated because I am stressing :(!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. KOM

KOM Senior Member 5+ Year Member

Mar 2, 2006
    If you weren't tested for sobriety, I find it interesting that they still charged you with "drunk in public." Seems like something I would fight to have expunged, but then again, I know nothing of law.

No offense, but getting in a car with someone legally drunk behind the wheel doesn't show very sound judgement (especially if you weren't drinking). In that respect, it might be difficult to fight in court. In terms of your peace of mind, I'd venture a guess and say a misdemeanor such as this won't pose any problem in still gaining licensure.
  4. wenz482

wenz482 2+ Year Member

Dec 5, 2006