Will attending optometry school be worth leaving a $50,000-$60,000/year income?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mls2od

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I realize that money isn't everything, but in this economy it has to be considered. Long story short, I obtained my degree in Medical Technology instead of biology in order to ensure job security after college. Three years after finishing my degree, I now work as a medical laboratory scientist (ASCP) and I make a pretty good living, especially when you take into consideration that I have very little student loan debt. So here's my question, is the debt accumulation that will be associated with optometry school worth leaving a career that pays $55,000/year? Based on the math, I have concluded that it will take ~17 years (after I finish optometry school) before I actually receive any financial gains in this profession.

Once again, I want to stress that I do not think that money is everything when it comes to being satisfied with one's career. However, it is an important component to living a comfortable life. Yes, doing what you love is one thing. Making uniformed decisions in the process is something else. I just want to make sure that I look at this from every possible angle before I apply. My grades are competitive for optometry school. However, I would like to see what kind of responses I get from this thread before I dish out nearly $1,500 on KAPLAN'S OAT Course.

Thanks

Here's the math:

(Student Loan Debt From Optometry School) + (Net loss of 4 years salary) = Years Before Financial Gains Are Obtained
(Optometrist Salary) - (Medical Laboratory Scientist Salary)

Further breakdown of the numbers:
If I attend optometry school I will accumulate approximately $200,000 in debt (tuition/fees/cost of living) + a loss of $220,000 (4 years salary that will be lost while attending optometry school)