Will Clinical Experience in only one specialty hurt you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chaldobruin

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a 4th year UCLA student applying to this coming cycle, but I have a concern on my application. My clinical experiences consist of:

1-Volunteered at a contact lens clinic at the UCLA medical center for 2 years (fresh + soph), doing basic stuff (checking in patients, taking calls, training patients to put in their contact lenses correctly) but I also sat in on some exams. However, it was an optometrist, not an MD. The interesting part was that It was a specialty clinic, only patients with rare eye diseases came in, and were fitted by a very specialized optometrist. At this point I was interested in optometry, not medicine.

2-I got pretty interested in these eye diseases so I took up a research position with an MD (ophthalmologist) during my junior year, and I currently do research on some of these same diseases. I also shadowed the MD many times both in the clinic (slit lamp examination) and in the OR (saw countless cataract surgeries, corneal transplants, even LASIK procedures). These experiences are what drew me towards medicine.

3-During my senior year (now) I got a job as a retina technician, performing glaucoma tests, visual acuity tests, etc. on patients before they see the ophthalmologist. This confirmed my interest in medicine.

Well, heres thing thing. I've been told by a few people (even an adcom from this site) that my focusing too much on opth might hurt me, since it is such a small field/small part of the body. I hope to overcome this by mentioning in my PS that although I am interested in the eye, I want to explore all kinds of fields during my 4 year stint in medical school.