This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I get the second dog?

• Yes, it will be tough, but yes

Votes: 3 60.0%
  • No

Votes: 2 40.0%

• Total voters

abcdeltaforce

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright, so I am an undergrad looking at going in Neurology (Possibly Oncology) after my BA, which means medical school. I have a 6 month old incredibly easy puppy who is an amazing part of my life. I love having a dog and will never regret getting him as he is my best friend and understands when I stay home studying even on weekends.

So here is my question. A friend recently announced she's expecting a baby and she can't keep her two year old female husky anymore and was wondering if I could take her. I'm all about dogs-they really do have a spot in my heart. She is such a sweetheart and doesn't chew things up as long as she has toys (like any regular dog). So my issue is that I'm wondering if it is possible to care for two dogs in medical school? This is clearly a while off, but I'm trying to think about the future as much as possible. For those of you that are there/have been there already:
*Was it too time consuming with even one pet? If you have two, was it manageable?
*Do they entertain each other? I walk Koda once a day in the mornings and wouldn't mind taking Kyah with us as a new companion, but my biggest concern is that at some point I'll be so wrapped up in classes that Koda will be home alone for 5+ hours a day. Obviously in med school it will be more like 24+ hours at a time, but if he were to have a friend, would it help him? Would it prevent him from getting lonely? I don't believe in giving up dogs so I'm really looking in his best interest.
*Was it difficult finding roommates in medical school? I am 100% fine living with other people and prefer it so I could trust (and perhaps pay) them to take care of my pets.
*If you don't have roommates, was it hard to find walkers/feeders?