Medical Will I ever be able to apply to med school with my GPA?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 11, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
  1. Non-Student
Hi all-

I graduated from undergrad a couple years ago with a degree in statistics and a very, very low GPA. cGPA- 2.6, sGPA-2.4. There were no extenuating circumstances here, just bad time management skills and some undiagnosed focus issues. I was pre-med for the first couple years of undergrad, so a lot of my lowest grades were in the pre-reqs.

After graduation I got a job at a big financial institution as a data analyst. After feeling so discouraged in undergrad, I figured that med school was out of the question.

However, my passion for healthcare never really died out, and I found myself thinking back on my experiences as an EMT and doing clinical work in undergrad and wondering if being a doctor was truly out of the question. More importantly, the past couple years out of school have been been a time of huge personal growth, and I've successfully overcome the issues with focus and time management that plagued me in high school and undergrad.

So, after reading @Goro's reinvention guide last year, I began re-taking the pre-reqs that I did so badly in in undergrad at a local university. Just one or two at a time, since I work ~50 hrs/week. So far, I've gotten A's in everything so I'm cautiously taking this as a green light to keep taking classes.