Will I ever get into Med school or should I give up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lis19

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been going to University for about two years and due to having to work 2 full time jobs, I've lost track of my priorities and have gotten a 1.4 gpa. I am moving next month out of state and "starting over" at a community college. Do I have any chance whatsoever to getting in to a medical school (even DO or a Caribbean school)?

Please don't be mean, I know the mistakes I've made.

Members don't see this ad.

Are you American? We go to college, not university.

I'm not good at math, but if your future coursework could somehow balance out the 1.4 and end up >3.6 or so, your chances are good. This would be easier with DO grade replacement. Seems like you better choose between working or going to school because doing both is not yielding good results.

Members don't see this ad :)
Are you American? We go to college, not university.

I'm not good at math, but if your future coursework could somehow balance out the 1.4 and end up >3.6 or so, your chances are good. This would be easier with DO grade replacement. Seems like you better choose between working or going to school because doing both is not yielding good results.

This can't happen, especially with a 1.4 over two years.

Well if you go to community college first...get 4.0...transfer to a decent 4 year. Get a 4.0 there and get a 30+ on your MCAT then I would never rule out that you couldn't get into medical school whether MD, DO, or Caribbean.

Maybe someone can clarify, does AMCAS require to list all higher level institutions when filling out your primary? For some reason I feel like you could almost make it seem like you never went to that university and just started at a community college.

Can someone clarify?