Will I get HIV infection after I touch the blood?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lealf-ye

I am a super doctor.
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
This happened when I was assisting my doctor for a procedure in his office yesterday. I accidentally touched blood from this patient with my finger without glove. I rinse the blood out right away but did not use any soap to wash until 30 minutes later. I also noticed there was some peeling of my skin on the finger that touched blood without visible open wound. What is my risk of get HIV infection if the patient is HIV positive? I am worried. :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

With intact skin, the risk of infection is virtually nil. If that's the case, I wouldn't worry about it.

Of course, the best idea would've been to mention it to your preceptor, who could've examined the "peeling skin" in order to determine if it was intact or not, and if any exposure had occured. This forum is not the place to go for medical advice.

KentW said:
With intact skin, the risk of infection is virtually nil. If that's the case, I wouldn't worry about it.

two questions I have:
1) will finger with skin peeling/scaling be considered as intact skin?
2) any reference to data show that the risk is virtually nil?

lealf-ye said:
two questions I have:
3) any evidence the patient actually had HIV?

I would be more worried about hep C and B than HIV. HIV dies as quickly when exposed to air. Hep B (and somewhat C) can live for 10 days in dried blood and becomes infectious again as soon as the dried blood is rehydrated.

lealf-ye said:
two questions I have: