Will I get in Optometry school with low GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tina Nguyen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! My first post here, and I need some guidance.. I am going to give you cliff notes of my story:

Major: Cell and Molecular Biology
Overall GPA: 2.3 (I know, it's low - read on)
Expecting GPA when graduating: 2.4
Science GPA: 3.1 (perquisite science GPA)
OAT: tbd
Graduation: May 2014

Reason for my GPA is because I worked ALOT when I graduated from high school and was going towards my business degree. I am seriously 2 classes shy from getting my AA degree in Business. I started working at my mom's salon when I was 16 and earned my Cosmotology license at 18. I helped my mom at the salon, worked at the bank, and went to school full time during the first 2 years out of high school to help my family out from financial debt. My grades went down heal from there.

The reason why I changed to Optometry? I worked at the bank for 2 years and was completely unhappy with the service and quota I had to meet forcing accounts on customers. So I began to search different options, where I eventually volunteered at a dental, optometry, and physicians office. When I was at the optometry office I honestly fell in love with the office environment, the different people you meet everyday, the ability to help patients based on what they needed. I realized at the moment I wanted to help people, help them see better and at the same time enjoy the business aspect of it. (I grew up in a business oriented family, this was a beneficial skill) At this time my GPA is low, as hard as I try to improve my GPA over the years it becomes harder because my credit increases...

...Fast forward. I am currently working part-time at an Optometry office for 2 1/2 years now and LOVE IT. I also still work at my mom's salon.