will I get sued if pt has withdrawl because I didn't early fill her clonazepam?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fxok425

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a newly licensed pharmacist. yesterday, I rejected an early refill of a pt's clonazepam even though the Dr is OK on early refill for two days. the dr was even on the phone trying to persuade me to early refill. I looked at the regular pharmacist's note - NO EARLY RFILL! The pt is on clonazepam 1mg 7ts a day (210 ts for 30 days) and Norco 10 8ts a day . Dr said he approved early refill because he was worried about she will go into withdrawal. I was like: She early refilled every month. They add up! If she needs more, you can increase the dose. But the DR doesn't want to increase the dose, he said it's the maximum already. Then I said I won't fill it. I am not comfortable to do so as a newly licensed floater. She can come back next morning talk to the pharmacy manager.

Members don't see this ad.

You did the right thing. If patient goes into withdrawal it is entirely their fault. If they are taking controlled substances in a manner contrary to their physician's orders, they are probably technically breaking the law.

That being said, you can be sued for anything. You will almost certainly not be found liable for any wrongdoing in this instance. Just document the conversation with the physician and you'll be all set.

if the patient is in that bad of shape, she should go to the ER and be evaluated by a physician. Or for that matter, the doctor/patient can try there luck at another pharmacy. Yes, the pt could sue you if anything went wrong, but that lawsuit would go nowhere. Obviously, there was no reason they should have been out of medicine, with documented, repeated early refills. Continuing to refill early puts you far more at risk with the DEA, then with a lawsuit--obviously this patient is misusing the drug, possibly even selling it.