Walshy

5+ Year Member
Apr 18, 2012
I am currently a college student with no intentions of joining a research lab. Will this hurt me when I apply to dental school?

Apr 26, 2012
Virginia
Status
OP, Research is actually a big focus of adcom these days. We have a problem in dentistry. This was actually just published in the AAO this month. There is a notion of "training" dental students as opposed to teaching. Dentistry is akin to trade school. We need more of a science and research focus back on dentistry. The main reason being - dentistry becoming more complicated. We're losing the science aspect quickly. This is a big problem in dental academia.

If you can't do research then that's ok, but I would highly advise you do research. It won't make you or break you, but it will certainly help you. It doesn't have to be dental research or even related(bone regeneration, tissue engineering, genetic research, anthropology etc.). Just show that you're interested in achieving a greater good and you enjoy science. Research can be very fun and rewarding. Plus, it's a great place to find letter of recommendations.

Not only that, but don't you want to be published?

Consider doing research. It will surely help you.

Apr 21, 2012
Status
Dental Student
OP, Research is actually a big focus of adcom these days. We have a problem in dentistry. This was actually just published in the AAO this month. There is a notion of "training" dental students as opposed to teaching. Dentistry is akin to trade school. We need more of a science and research focus back on dentistry. The main reason being - dentistry becoming more complicated. We're losing the science aspect quickly. This is a big problem in dental academia.