Will slacking off during a single rotation during med school sink you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DropkickMurphy

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK, so I find the idea of OB/GYN absolutely disgusting (I mean who in their right mind would want to look at diseased crotch for a living?) and after having delivered three babies as an EMT I can fairly state that it's the one thing that still reliably makes me puke after all these years :laugh: . So if I were to slack off and do the bare minimum during my OB/GYN rotation in medical school how much would this affect my chances for match if I received high marks in all my other rotations? Just wondering......

Members don't see this ad.

I think it is more important what sort of comments are placed in your evaluation than the actual grade you earn. At my school, the ENTIRE comments section from your rotations in third year are "copied and pasted" into the dean's letter. So, while a basic "pass" in Ob/Gyn won't sink you, comments like "Does as little work as possible" and "Unmotivated student" sure will - and fast! (For those that don't know - the dean's letter is sent to all residency programs you apply to).

I think it also depends on what specialty you want to enter. As an EMT, if you plan on going into Emergency Medicine, you better bet that they care about your Ob/Gyn grade. I have done 20 times as many pelvics in the Emergency Department than I ever did in Ob/Gyn. On the other hand, some specialties like Psychiatry or Surgery could probably care less. I have heard that (on average), IM and Surgery grades are looked at the most (ie: they honor less people), then Ob/Gyn, then Neuro/FP/Peds, then Psych at the very bottom. This is just from my experiences, of course they will differ depending on your school and what specialty you plan on entering.