Will this keep me out of Med School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Will taking so long keep me out of Med School?

• Yes

Votes: 2 7.1%
  • No

Votes: 26 92.9%

• Total voters

yungdoc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So long story short... I graduated High School FOUR YEARS AGO. I went to CSULB as a freshman wanting to be a nurse. After my first year, I no longer wanted to be a nurse and I didn't want to spend so much of my parents' money while figuring out exactly what it was I was going to do (I've always wanted to be a doctor, I just couldn't commit to it as an immature 18 year old) so I transferred to my local community college. I have now been here for 3 YEARS and just recently got accepted to UC Berkeley to finish up undergrad. I think I would do significantly better at Berkeley if I was there for 2.5 years and not just 2 years (I don't want to risk my GPA dropping). The problem is.... That means it will have taken me 6.5 YEARS to finish up undergrad. I have never taken less than 12 units/semester so it's not like I've been taking it easy BUT it's going to take me 6.5 years to finish as opposed to the majority of others who finish in 4 or 5 years. Assuming I do well on the MCAT, will this keep me out of Med School? My EC's are great and I will be doing more at Berkeley.

Thank you for your insight!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,