Will we ever have meaningful student loan reform? and what should it be?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dred Pirate

Pharmacist
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I preface this by saying I graduated with just over $100,000 in student loans, but at a super low interest rate of 1.8% (early 2000's) and paid them off in about 12 years.
There has been a lot of debate lately, loan payments have been deferred, etc.
It seems like the focus has been on student loan forgiveness, vs fixing the underlying problem. Even if we forgave every student loan out there, we will be right back to the same situation we are in now in 5-10 years, and the debate will rage once again.

I agree the amount of loans people are graduating with now days is just ridulous in some cases. Expecting average 18 year olds to truly understand the scope of what they are taking on, is not reasonable. My parents warned me about what I was doing when I went to pharmacy school and tried to push me to towards a cheaper state school (and I was 22-just graduated undergrad) but I "knew what I was doing". Well, it was because of a girl, but hey, water under the bridge. Luckily for me, the stars aligned and I graduated when salaries were growing and interest rates were low. But obviously many are not that lucky.

Here are some idea that I think we should acutally focus on to solve the underlying program. All have their pro's and con's.