Will working in a bio lab still look good on a psychology application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

carolinagirl1993

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore in undergrad and am majoring in psychology and minoring in biology. I have a great connection to a professor studying pancreatic cancer and she has given me an opportunity to work in her lab, which is good because i have no other experience and don't know where to start otherwise. My ultimate goal is to continue to get a phD and do research (especially the biological side of psych), so does working in a research environment, using the scientific method, collecting data, etc. make up for the fact that it's not psychology based? Or would I be better off looking for something more directly related? I really need to get good experience because my GPA isn't the best...

which also makes me wonder: I have taken/ plan to take especially challenging classes compared to other psych majors that I know (lots of lab based sciences for my bio minor) and my GPA therefore is lower... will admissions to phD programs care/ notice that I challenged myself? or would I be better off dropping the bio and just focusing on getting A's?

Members don't see this ad.