With takehome pay of around $2600-2900/mo, do interns start repaying 200k loans?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bulldog

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So as an intern, I estimate I'll be making around $2600-2900/mo takehome. I have 200k in debt, around 5%. Do "deferring repayment" I've heard tossed around just pile up the interest? Do most residents/interns start repaying once july comes around?

Members don't see this ad.

what about consolidating and then just paying off the interest during residency? can we do that?

I think it is actually about $2000-$2100 take home.

Hey,

Bulldog your questions are the same ones my wife and I are asking!!!

the other thread what's typical takehome pay for interns after taxes/deductions/etc per month? was good.

If you start chipping away at the principle early it does help...at
5% for 200 000 you will pay 833.33 per month in interest (=200 000 *0.05/12) so if you make 2600, minus 1100 in living expenses a month you have 1500$ to pay interest and principle :) You would pay off approximatly $7000 of your priniciple in the first year of residency :)

The faster you start paying off the principle the faster you become free from debt...I miss those days.

I deferred my loans until after residency. My wife insisted that we have money for, like, groceries and stuff. ;)

I deferred my loans until after residency. My wife insisted that we have money for, like, groceries and stuff. ;)

Ya... food.. electricity... stuff like that is important.

If you go to a good financial planner, they will explain to you exactly how you should pay your debt.