Mar 26, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello All,

I have been reading all of the threads on here for quite some time and I have to say it is all very informative. There are a lot of pluses as well as minuses to joining military medicine. I am currently a sophomore in college and a female interested in going to the USUHS (Army 1st choice Navy 2nd). I would like to know what it is truly like being not only a woman in the Army, but a Doctor as well.
With all male dominating fields and areas there is a level of **** one has to put up with being female. I know I was a bit of a tomboy growing up and constantly had to put up with it, but don't really mind. Even if the person responding is not female, I would still like to know, to a certain extent, what their female colleagues had to put up with. Should I serve in the Army or in the Navy and how much of a difference is between the two branches.
And any additional information about USUHS would be highly appreciated ( u know campus life, what it is truly like, training, etc.) I know there is a thread here about it, but I would like to here more.

Thanks Everyone U guys are really informative,

Futuredoc1215 :)

DrMetal

To shred or not shred?
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Sep 16, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Hello All,

Thanks Everyone U guys are really informative,

Futuredoc1215 :)
Well, what exactly are your concerns? There are plenty of female physicians in today's military. Some are happy, some are not.

As far as the unhappy ones go, I don't think they're unhappy b/c they feel discriminated against, per their gender. Rather, I think they're unhappy per professional/personal reasons that are gender neutral. For instance, if you're a military surgeon who's unhappy per a low case volume, that has nothing to do with your gender (not necessarily at least). That has more to do with the fact that you're in the military, stationed at some BFE MTF.