1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

"Woop there it is!" (What does that mean anyway?)

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by Zendoc, Apr 19, 2007.

1. Zendoc

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hi. I just took the MCAT for the second time and I am finally applying to medical school after about 5 years of being "pre-med." I have a huge dilemma to figure out though. I took a load of alternative medicine classes at San Francisco State during my five years there. I studied biofeedback, autogenic regulation, blah, blah, blah. I have been considering DO school for a couple of years now because I think that my philosophy aligns much more closely with DO practice than it does with allopathic medicine. However, each time I get serious and start telling people my plans, I somehow get concerned or thrown off my path because of the stigma surrounding alternative medicine or DO school. I know it shouldn't matter what other people think, but after all of the work I've done, it does kind of hurt to think that people may say, "Oh, she went to DO school because she couldn't get into med school..." This would not be the case. I know I will get into medical school but when I think about DO school, I really get excited!!!!!

Is there anyone out there who has gone through this dilemma or went through a period of choosing between allopathic medical school and osteopathic medical school? For those of you in osteopathic school, do you find yourselves with the same opporunities as allopathic medical students? What is osteopathic school like? Are you happy with your decision? I want to make the best, most informed decision. I appreciate any comments. Thank you. :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Doc2007

Doc2007 Member
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Read FAQs.

4. Zendoc

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Thank you, that was very helpful.

5. nlax30