work and study for August mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jjannie

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this forum. so far found most of the posts very interesting and informative....
I'm out of school for almost 3yrs. Now, i plan to go back to school and start study for this aug. mcat. Are there any advice on how to start review and how to cope with full time job and study schedule? is there anyone in the same situation and how do you do it?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Jjannie,

welcome! I will be taking the August MCAT as well and may be working full time (I'd like to avoid teaching over the summer, if at all possible)...I've been out of school for almost 3 years (I graduated from college in May of 2002), and so I can empathize a great deal with what you are going through..

Working full time and studying for the MCAT, as many posters after me will tell you, is extremely difficult. But fear not! Many people have done it in the past, and have been successful...I suggest that you create a schedule of what your daily routine will be like...You may want to consider: What time will I be working during the day (this includes the amount of time needed for transportation)? Do I have other time consuming responsibilities that can affect my ability to study? How many hours of sleep do I need each night to function properly? How many hours/day can I realistically spend studying? Will I be taking a prep course or studying on my own?Which subject area am I the weakest at? strongest? What day of the week can I reserve for "me" ?

The more you know about what your work/social schedule will be like, the better you can organize your time to study...

Hope this helps!