Work as an Engineer or do Research during the year off?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neha4000

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am graduating in May, and taking a year off. I can either work as engineer (and make considerably more money) or work at the NIH next year. How imporant is it work in a medical field? I have lots of research experience already (2 years +, and a summer research project) with one publication, so I am debating just working as an engineer, but I don't want this to negatively affect my applciation.

Had anyone had any experience with this in the past?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I hate to sound like I'm waffling, but unfortunately the answer to your question probably depends on what school you apply to. Sounds like you have some research experience already, of which many programs consider a positive. If you know where you want to go, I'd try and contact that program and ask what they consider in a strong applicant, or even more so, contact a medical student at that program and ask them. I took a year off after college and worked before I got into medical school. I also had some solid research experiences prior to matriculation. Unfortunately, my medical school did not view research experience as much of importance (if not a strike against me). They were much more interested in health care experiences and dedication to the field of medicine. Knowing this, I spent at least one day per week volunteering in the field. I am fairly certain that if it were not for my volunteer experiences and the connections I made through them, I would not be where I am today. Best of luck. :)

Doesn't sound like a year off to me, sounds like a year on. Do what you want to do...really, it'll show when you talk about it at interviews. Then target schools that appreciate the type of experience you have.

Members don't see this ad :)
Neha4000 said:
Hi all,