Work in Lab to get paid?? Or to increase GPA?? DILEMMA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

johnwandering

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a work study student with a $2000 work study grant over the year.
However, I noticed that if I Work for Bio 499 credit (research), I can raise my GPA from a 3.49 to a 3.51.
The only problem is that I have to write a paper and present a poster at the end of the semester... which can be considerable work with the load I already have.
Also, a year of research gets harder if you aren't paid...

I was wondering, is it worth the GPA raise?
Or should I just do work study and reap the benefits??

Members don't see this ad.

higher GPA + getting into med school + making 100,000 plus > $2000

Members don't see this ad :)
Tough dilemma. I think it'd go for the 2,000 bucks though. Two hundredths of a grade point are unlikely to make or break you, and it's all about the Benjamins (all 20 of 'em).

Take the $2k. I know you're worried about getting over the 3.5 GPA mark, but the difference is mostly just psychological.

I will receive about $9 a week, 10 hours a week

not bad at all...

Federal workstudy is taxable. You won't be getting $2000. Take the GPA increase if you aren't applying this current cycle. The difference is negligible, but there is some psychological response to seeing that 3.49 vs. a 3.51. Ya know? Some won't agree with me, this is just my feeling.

I'd go for the 0.02 increase.

The GPA cutoff for some schools might be 3.5.

Remember that med schools have to process thousands of applications each year. They could easily set a GPA cutoff of 3.5.

Also, if you want money, you could always work as a waiter or wash cars over the summer. No shame in that kind of work. Do everything you can to protect the GPA.

Last edited: