• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Work Study Employment.

raptorattack

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2004
Athens, GA
    Hey folks.

I am an entering first-year student at the University of Georgia. Today, I recieved my financial aid award letter, and as the title might suggest, I recieved help via FWS.

At UGA, students have the ability to look at FWS-exclusive job listings and apply where they see possible interest. Here lies my question. On the listings, there were many positions present for lab assistants in Microbiology, Cellular Biology, Entomology, and Vet. Medicine. Would such a position be a positive experience as an undergrad? Which one, in your opinion, would be the ideal position to persue?

Thanks in advance.

Ben

lessismoe

Momma to Ronan
    7+ Year Member
    15+ Year Member
    Jul 27, 2003
    CA
    1. Medical Student
      As someone who regularly hires undergrads for lab help, I have to say, you are in a great position! There are always tons of undergrads on campuses looking for jobs in labs to put on future applications, and you have an advantage over many of them; you are essentially free labor!