Working during medical school (pharmD)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Singlecelled12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a pharmacist who was accepted to an MD school to begin this fall. I was wondering if there are any other pharmDs out there who are in medical school or have graduated that can speak about if you were able to work as a pharmacist during medical school. I currently work in both a hospital (completed a pgy1 and pgy2) and also work on the side in retail. I am considering keeping the retail job and attempting to pick up a few PRN days per month (probably just one or two shifts/month on weekends). Also, if anyone has gone through this, were you able to work during breaks/summers? If I am unable to work during medical school, I am fine with that as well. I do not have a family, so that wouldn't affect my decision to work on non-class days.

Hoping to get some insight from others who may have done this already.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

If I get in and if the school permits it, I'm going to try working Friday evenings during years 1 and 2. The argument I've seen some make is it's not worth it if your hourly rate is low, i.e. Why lose out on study time or family time for a couple Hundo. But if your earning potential is high... I'm a PA and take home is prob similar to pharm, so it's more worthwhile. I have a family so I want the liquidity.

Members don't see this ad :)
Haven't done it myself, but knew a guy who worked as a clinical lab scientist (high hourly wage, but prob less than you guys) for a couple 12 hr shifts a month for M1 & 2. He said it worked out okay, just about took care of his rent.