Ashlee

10+ Year Member
Mar 20, 2009
Status
Pre-Veterinary
I have an opportunity to work at a veterinary school in the dept. of infectious diseases, doing laboratory work, but I will be working for someone with a PhD instead of a DVM.

Would this be considered vet experience in the field of research?

I know I'm not technically working for a veterinarian, but it is very much something that someone with a DVM would be qualified to oversee...

Regardless of who I am working for, it seems as if it would be valuable experience. It's something I would really like to learn about.

But how would vet school see it?

david594

The-OSU CVM c/o 2013
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Aug 20, 2007
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Most schools would see that as a positive thing.

twelvetigers

stabby cat
10+ Year Member
Mar 12, 2008
TTown
Status
Veterinarian
Work under a PhD can be considered veterinary experience if the research is relevant... and I'd imagine it is. Sounds like a great opportunity!

OP
A

Ashlee

10+ Year Member
Mar 20, 2009
Status
Pre-Veterinary
Yayyy! Thank you so much!

I'm really excited about it :)

ckgilabert

CSU PVM c/o 2014!!!!
10+ Year Member
Mar 19, 2007
Fort Collins, Co
Status
Pre-Veterinary
this is my opinion...i'd say that working with a PhD is animal experience, and working with a DVM is vet experience. I've had MANY animal classes where we castrated, docked tails, vaccinated, etc.....but the teacher was a PhD....so i said animal experience.

Trilt

puppy snuggler extraordinaire
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Feb 10, 2008
NC
Status
Veterinarian
I think this would depend on your school. I know my in-state, NCSU, specifically states: