1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Working while in dental school: a bad idea?

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by shingshing, Dec 8, 2005.

1. shingshing

shingshing Member
    5+ Year Member

Hi guys, I have been thinking to work part time when I attend dental school. I have been a part time graphic designer working 20 hours a week while going to school half time. I dont know how busy it could get being a D1 student, but i am thinking to get some freelance graphic works. Anyone has done that? Anyone has done something outside school to generate some extra cash??

2. TimR

TimR Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

a friend of mine was a limo driver on the weekends.....

i think it would be best to just devote all your time to school.

3. Kniles5

Kniles5 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    If you think about it, extra time is probably best spent in clinics or learning more about specialties. Ultimately, it is going to makes you more money, because you will develop more talents and be able to broaden your capabilities as a dentist. The more you can do, the more patients you can see. Just a thought.... :rolleyes:

4. beredsox2

beredsox2 The Anti Anti-Dentite
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Dental

I second that motion. Or at least take some time out for yourself to just relax. They'll be throwing a lot of material at us all the time. So if you do find some rare free time, I say go spend it with your friends.

5. DentistBunaHay

5+ Year Member

spend free time relaxing or just thinking about the rewards you're going to get one you get out but DON"T WORK. It can have a toll on your endurance.

6. I'mFillingFine