Punt me

Hiya!
2+ Year Member
Aug 23, 2017
Status
Dental Student
Hi all,

I can't seem to find a thread similar to my case. I am quite worried how my applications will turn out and whether I should apply as many as possible for more chances.

In short, my story is that I had gone to my first college for 2.5 years and I did extremely poorly there due to an undiagnosed medical condition that barred me from studying properly. My GPA there is 2.2. I had many W's, 1 F, and many repeated courses and even then, their grades were poor.

I left the school, medical condition diagnosed and treated, and went to another school and graduated there. My GPA here is 3.76. No W, and the lowest grade was a B+. I combined the GPAs of both schools and my sci. avg. is 3.22 and overall avg. is 3.08. I did take more science courses in the new school.

I just took my DAT and received the following:

PAT: 25
QR: 28
RC: 18
Biology: 26
G.Chem: 23
O.Chem: 24
TS: 24
AA: 24

I worked as a TA at a college teaching biology for about 3 years after graduating college.

I do have all of the required courses, rec letters, shadowing, etc done already.

I am worried that the schools deny my application by just looking at my overall GPA average without looking at the PS or anything to look deeper into my application. Also, that RC is very bothering. I've heard of cases where students were told to take the DAT again to make up a sub-20 RC grades. That would take too much time for me. I haven't even submitted my application yet - I am working on it and all should be completed probably next week or first week of Sept.

I would appreciate anyone's opinion on this matter.

Kou_KeiKi

2+ Year Member
Mar 10, 2017
Status
Dental Student