Quantcast

Worth Buying Harrison's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Toohotinvegas33

Currently Glasgow 3
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
We get it online for free, so alot of people end up buying Cecils

Taus

Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I see no reason to buy it if you can access it online for free. If you really want a section on paper just print it out when at school....the weight of the book doesn't make it so much fun to carry around with you anyway. IMO you should save the major textbook buying for residency.

Robz

La Vie Boheme
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I bought a harrisons 2nd year.

I think I have read about 3-5 different things out of it since. So, i have to say save your money and go with other sources. A lot of places have up to date that is mondo helpful.

jonb12997

I'm a doctor!!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm gonna go the opposite and say it was definitely worth buying. I like reading out of textbooks though. I used it a lot this year to read on different disease that my patients had. I definitely think it's worth it. Also, buy yourself the two volume edition! If you can, sign up for a border's rewards card, they occationally send you 25% off any one item. I bought Nelson's pediatrics that way and saved a ton!

DragonWell

Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The real question is: will you have time to read it?

It's a good book, but obviously quite dense, even for a reference source. I did use it a fair amount second year, but still found myself more likely to first look for a more concise source like Lange Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment or even a review article from NEJM (both of which you can probably print on campus).

In terms of importance to Step 1, your time would probably be better spent reading Path than Harrison's.

nvshelat

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member