This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chemdoctor

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I am a sophomore. Gonna be taking the MCAT spring of next year. Thinking of studying hard this summer and even buying a book set. I’ve finished Chem I, Chem II, Bio, And taking Orgo II now. Also finished both Physics’. Would you guys recommend purchasing the exam crackers book set? It’s $160 on amazon and it has practice tests and info on each subject. Do you guys recommend it? Or should I wait it out since I’m just a sophomore... (second semester)

Will be taking Biochem this Fall. Please lemme know. If not, are there other books you guys recommend? Things I should be focusing on? please let me know. Thank you everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

Stop. Enjoy college while you can.

Focus on your classes. Take a psych class and a sociology class.If you have the time to worry about the MCAT, focus instead on your ECs and getting as close to a 4.0 as you can.

Decide when you want to study, not when you want to take your exam:
A. Winter break of junior year - Test date Jan/Feb, sign up in October and fight with everyone else trying to get a test date.
B. Spring semester, balance with classes - Test date April/May
C. Summer after junior year - Test date July/August

Come back once you sign up for a test date. Then we can talk test materials.

I like your dedication (and naivete) but you're going to risk major burnout if you start this early.

Reactions: 1 users
Stop. Enjoy college while you can.

Focus on your classes. Take a psych class and a sociology class.If you have the time to worry about the MCAT, focus instead on your ECs and getting as close to a 4.0 as you can.

Decide when you want to study, not when you want to take your exam:
A. Winter break of junior year - Test date Jan/Feb, sign up in October and fight with everyone else trying to get a test date.